Show Video Player, Safari issues

Discussion in 'SHOW Responsive Video Suite' started by Christoph Bauder, Mar 6, 2018.

1. Christoph Bauder

Christoph Bauder New Member

Hi folks
    I’m writing a comment concerning the video issue or „show responsive video player“. Unfortunately I have the same problem as many users with safari - the video takes a long time to be shown, because it must first be complete downloaded before the rest of the page can be built.
    I did at test. Be careful reading this - im not a programmer an even my english ist not the best…
    First of all I realized reading the code of the widget, the embedded MediaElemtPlayer is based on a version from 2013 (version = 2.19.0). I got the new version (version = 4.2.8, 2017) vom GitHub (https://github.com/mediaelement/mediaelement; http://www.mediaelementjs.com) and tried to build my own widget.
    On my server I placed the „mediaelement-and-player.js“ an linked it to the HTML-code I got from the demo-version folder on GitHub (..mediaelement/demo index.html). In Dreamweaver I did a small clean up the those things I wanted to focus on and linked the script as I mentioned to download from my server. Naturally the links for video content and thumb-images had to be changed. The complete HTLM-code from Dreamweaver was copied into muse…
    Testing the page I was really astonished. It worked. Really fast, no more waiting.
    So I wonder, if the template used from musetheme is perhaps not up to date?

Best regard from Vienna
    Chris

2. DjHerold

DjHerold Moderator Staff Member Advisory Group

Chris, thank you for the information.
    I see you've placed a support ticket on this, and I'll defer to the developers on your findings.
    The widget has been updated a couple of times, so my suggestion in the mean time is to be sure you have the latest.
    Also, the team has been looking at some issues with the widget and have a beta version 4 they are looking at.