Responsive vs Alternate Layouts

Discussion in 'General Muse' started by CT-Scott, Apr 9, 2016.

1. CT-Scott

CT-Scott New Member

I'm new to Muse. I just started playing with it yesterday. I'm a developer by trade, but I also have a strong creative streak (I have a small web design business that I haven't given much attention to over the last several years, but I still have a couple of clients I support). My daughter is an artist and I wanted to get her to stick her feet in the technology side of design but not get her scared away with tools that made her have to work with HTML. I started playing with Muse yesterday and really enjoyed using it. It got me excited about using it to redesign one of my client's sites and fixing their current problem where my last design does not display well on mobile devices.

So I see how the response stuff works and it's neat. But I'm still skeptical about the entire thing, and part of me feels like creating a separate mobile-optimized version might still be the best way to go. Since I'm new to Muse, I'm just now learning that the responsive features are brand new and that earlier versions of Muse used the "alternate layout" approach. One might think that the fact that they now seem to be "burying" the Alternate Layout approach in the menu, rather than proudly displaying it in the forefront, means that they're pushing Responsive as the new and improved way. But is that really so?

I see that with Responsive, I can get fancy and have elements be hidden (and other elements get displayed) when a certain breakpoint is crossed. But doesn't that mean that it's still downloading all of those graphic elements down to the mobile device and that Javascript is handling the hiding/showing of those elements? That seems like a bad thing bandwidth/speed-wise.

Am I missing anything or are there others who feel like the Alternate Layout approach may be a better (at least in some cases) approach to follow?

2. DjHerold